Jess' Food Adventures

{Birthday} Suika Snackbar

Leave a comment

Happy Reading Week break~ This is the beginning of my food adventures for the week. I think I have something planned for everyday of this week in terms of where I want to go to eat.

To kick off my Reading Week food adventure, I celebrated my birthday with some of my friends at Suika Snackbar. Reservations were made a week before. I’ve been told that you won’t be able to get a table unless you get a reservation and I can see why.

IMG_5603

Really cool sake bottle lamp

Really cool sake bottle lamp

There were 8 of us and we ordered A LOT of food. I’ve been told that eating at Suika isn’t filling but we all walked out of there with full stomachs.

Dynamic Steak $38

Dynamic Steak $38

I’m going to start off with the Dynamic Steak. It is a “W” lbs beef rib steak with garlic sauce and wasabi on the side.
Let me just say that this was a freaking huge a$$ piece of steak. It was huge. It pretty much was perfect for the 8 of us. The steak was perfect. Cooked towards medium rare but more towards the rare side. It was incredibly juicy and tender and the wasabi really complimented the steak. This dish right here, perfect for large group of people.

Nankotsu Cartilage $4.80

Nankotsu Cartilage $4.80

Nankotsu cartilage is essentially chicken cartilage. Pretty much like a crunchy, cartilagey chicken nugget with a hint of curry powder.

Hellz Chicken $8.80

Hellz Chicken $8.80

Hellz Chicken, another deep fried chicken dish. Kind of like the Nankotsu Cartilage minus the crunchy bits. Also very very good. Nice and crispy on the outside, soft and juicy on the inside.

Ebimayo $8.50

My Ebi-mayo $8.50

Ebimayo, deep fried tiger prawns with special mayo. This was absolutely delicious as well. So good that we ordered it again. Do you see a trend in our food choices here? We love our deep fried foods.

Chinese Poutine $6.80

Chinese Poutine $6.80

The Chinese Poutine was ok. It was fries topped with ground pork, mozzarella cheese, sansho and cilantro. It was interesting but I don’t know if I would want to order this again. For what it is, $6.80 is not really worth it. But definitely give it a try since it is something different from the usual. I think I would have enjoyed it more if there was more sauce on top of the fries, as some of the fries weren’t sauced (for lack of a better word).

7 Kinds Sashimi $29.80

7 Kinds Sashimi $29.80

The presentation for the 7 Kinds of Sashimi was definitely eye catching. It was different from the usual sashimi on a boat or sashimi on a bridge type of presentation at other sushi places. I didn’t really get to try most of the sashimi as there are only 3 pieces of each kind. Again for almost $30, I don’t think it was worth it to get this. I feel like you can get something similar for a fraction of the price elsewhere (like Oyama), but hey it’s just my opinion.

Toro Pressed Sushi $12

Toro Battera $12

The Toro Battera is a pressed sushi and it was on special today so we made 2 orders of it. So there is a piece of tuna sashimi that is lightly seared with avacado on the bottom with some sort of sauce drizzled on top. This was good but it’s not one of my favorites. This was my first time having pressed sushi and I prefer having the regular sushi instead. I’m not a big fan of having (for lack of a better word) dense sushi. Feels like I’m eating a specially crafted dense ball of rice with seared tuna on top.

Ebi Battera $9.80

Ebi Battera $9.80

Ebi Battera, another pressed sushi. I prefer the Ebi Battera over the Toro because I’m also not a huge fan of seared tuna.
Again, this was just okay. I’m glad I got to try the pressed sushi and it was interesting but I don’t think I would order this again. I forgot to mention that this is not on the menu nor was it one of their specials. This dish was recommended through their twitter! Follow Suika @SUIKA_IZAKAYA to receive updates and recommendations! It was funny how we pretty much held up my phone and pointed at their tweet when we were ordering. :P

Lychee Calpico $6.50

Lychee Calpico $6.50

I have no idea what is in this, but it was really good and colourful!

I had a fantabulous (yes… I just made up this word) night with my friends. I thought it was awesome how they would dim the lights and get their staff to come out singing happy birthday to you. At first I had no idea what was going on when the lights started to dim and the staff coming out to sing happy birthday to the table beside us. I thought it was pretty cool and I told my friend “you guys better not do that to me….”.

10 minutes later, lights dim and the staff comes out again. I honestly didn’t think much of it and thought it was for the table at the corner. Little did I know it was actually for me! I could not believe it until they set down a Matcha Brulee with sparkler and candle in front of me!

Matcha Brulee $4.80

Matcha Brulee $4.80

The Matcha Brulee is a frozen matcha creme brulee served with a red bean sauce and whipped cream. It was really good. As full as I was, I made sure to make some space for it.

I had a great time at Suika. The servers and I guess pretty much everyone there were really nice and friendly! They made sure that they changed our plates, poured us drinks, cleared any empty plates pretty quickly, and were really patience (we were quite indecisive you see…). Along with great food and company, I had an awesome night.

My friends, if you guys are reading this… thank you so much for making my night so eventful. And to the mastermind behind all this, I will get you (after I figure out who it is…)  >:)

Suika on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.