Jess' Food Adventures

{V-Day} Hokkaido Ramen Santouka

Leave a comment

Happy Valentines Day!
I’ve been MIA for awhile… (my bad).
It feels like every time I put up a post, it’s a post about ramen.

Anyways, since I didn’t have school, work, or any lab reports to write, I decided to go shopping with my friend TT in Downtown and grab a bite to eat!
The original plan was to get poutine at La Belle Patate but since we both have no sense of direction and we have no idea where this place is (even with the help of our smart phones…sad I know…), we opted to go to somewhere familiar.

I suggested that we go to Santouka since TT hasn’t been there before! This is my second time there. The first time (which I didn’t get a chance to upload a post) was with Mama Tran back in December.

We got there at around 12 and we were seated in about 5 minutes. While waiting for our seats, I noticed that they had a Valentines Day Special. The special includes an appetizer, your choice of ramen, and a dessert for $15. The appetizer was 2 pieces of Inari sushi and the dessert was coffee jelly.

I got the Valentines Special with a Shio ramen

IMG_5549

Inari Sushi

Inari Sushi

It was my first time trying inari sushi. It’s essentially a rice ball wrapped in a bean curd. It was pretty tasty with a slight sweetness to it. Reminds me of those dried Taiwanese bean curd snacks that my mom buys.

As for the ramen, I love love love it. The broth was nice and rich. I love broths that are opaque and fatty. Noodles were chewy, the pork was soft and tender with a thin fatty layer sandwiched between the meat. It was absolutely delicious. I think if you were to get just the ramen alone it would be around $9.50.

TT got the Toroniku Shio ramen which was $14.50. I tried it the last time and for ~$4 more you get pork cheek instead of the regular pork. 20121109-194345.jpg
I originally wanted to get this because the pork cheek is so tender. It just falls apart and melts away like butter when you eat it. The broth and noodles are the same as the regular shio ramen.

Coffee jelly

Coffee Jelly

As part of my special, I got the coffee jelly for dessert. It was really refreshing to have the jelly after such a fatty meal. The jelly was slightly bitter but after drowning it with cream, it was just so good. I love coffee jelly. *sigh*

All in all, I love Santouka. In my opinion, Santouka is one of the best ramen places to check out. I suggest coming in small groups as the ramen shop is quite small and there usually is a line up outside their door during the evening. That’s pretty much it! I was telling my friends the perks of eating out on Valentines Day. Just grab a friend, hang out, and enjoy a Valentines Day special together. I hope you found this helpful and see you again on Monday for a post on Suika!

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka 山頭火 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.